UNIVERSITY WRITING PROGRAM DIRECTORY

» Program Administration
» First Year Writing Faculty
» Research Librarian Partners
» Writing in the Disciplines Faculty

Program Administration

Executive Director, University Writing Program
Derek Malone-France
Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 205 | (202) 242-5359 | dmf@gwu.edu

Director, First-Year Writing
Zachary Wolfe
Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 218 | (202) 242-5130 | zwolfe@gwu.edu

Deputy Director, First-Year Writing
Caroline Smith
Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 220 | (202) 242-6591 | cjsmith7@gwu.edu

Director of WID (Writing in the Disciplines)
Rachel Riedner
Associate Professor of Writing and Women's Studies
Ames 214| (202) 242-5156 | rach@gwu.edu

Deputy Director of WID (Writing in the Disciplines)
Randi Kristensen
Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 231 | (202) 242-5291 | rkris@gwu.edu

Director, The Writing Center
Christine Zink
Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 233 | (202) 242-5279 | czink@gwu.edu

Deputy Director, The Writing Center
Carol Hayes
Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 228| (202) 242 6520 | hayesc@gwu.edu

Elisa Valero - Operations Coordinator
Ames 207 | (202) 242-5327 | eval@email.gwu.edu

Elizabeth Thompson - Operations Manager
Ames 206 | (202) 242-5375 | lizthom@gwu.edu

First-Year Writing Faculty

Joshua Buursma - Lecturer in Writing
Ames 209| (202) 242 5171 | jbuursma@gwu.edu

Charles Coulter - Professorial Lecturer in Writing
Ames 219| (202) 242 5175| ccoulter@gwu.edu

Julie Donovan - Assistant Professor of Writing
MVC ACAD ***| (202) 242 ****| juliedon@gwu.edu

Jonathan Dueck - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 234 | (202) 242 5275 | jonathandueck@live.com

Brian Fitzpatrick - Professorial Lecturer in Writing
Ames 216 | (202) 242 5173 | bjfitz@email.gwu.edu

Wade Fletcher- Teaching Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 236 | (202) 242 5174 | wfletche@gwu.edu

Sandie Friedman - Deputy Director First-Year Writing, Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 224 | (202) 242-5366 | srf@gwu.edu

Joseph Fruscione - Adjunct Professor of Writing
Ames 209 | (202) 242-5171 | josephk@gwu.edu
http://gwu.academia.edu/JosephFruscione

Cayo Gamber - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 232 | (202) 242-5286 | cayo1@gwu.edu
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/cgamber.htm
http://gwu.academia.edu/CayoGamber
http://www.gwu.edu/explore/gwtoday/learningresearch/universitywritingclassremembersholocaustvictims

Shonda Goward - Lecturer in Writing
Ames 216| (202) 242 5173 | goward@gwu.edu

Leah Hamilton - Lecturer in Writing
Ames 219| (202) 242 5175 | jablonsk@gwu.edu

Carol Hayes - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 228| (202) 242 6520 | hayesc@gwu.edu
http://gwu.academia.edu/CarolHayes

Edward Helfers -Lecturer in Writing
Ames 209 | (202) 242-5171 | ehelfers@gwu.edu

Katherine Howell -Adjunct Instructor of Writing
Ames 216 | (202) 242 5173 | khowell@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Johnston - Adjunct Professor of Writing
Ames 226| (202) 242 5176| elizjohn@gwu.edu

Randi Kristensen - Deputy Director of Writing in the Disciplines, Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 231 | (202) 242-5291 | rkris@gwu.edu
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/rkristensen.htm

Katherine Larsen - Teaching Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 223 | (202) 242-5090 | klarsen@gwu.edu
http://home.gwu.edu/~klarsen/main.html
http://gwu.academia.edu/KatherineLarsen

Jee Yoon Lee - Adjunct Professor of Writing
Ames 217 | (202) 242 5174 | jeeylee@gwu.edu

Derek Malone-France -Executive Director University Writing Program, Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 205| (202) 242-5359 | dmf@gwu.edu
http://gwu.academia.edu/DerekMaloneFrance

Gordon Mantler - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 208| (202) 242-5171 | gomantler@gwu.edu
http://gordonmantler.com/

Robin Marcus - Teaching Instructor of Writing
Ames 208| (202) 242-5192 | marcusra@gwu.edu

Jessica McCaughey - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 226| (202)242 176 | jessmcc@gwu.edu

Mark Mullen - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 229 | (202) 242-6702 | ishmael@gwu.edu
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/mullen.htm
http://intelligentlyartificial.org

Danika Myers - Teaching Instructor of Writing
Ames 215 | (202) 242-5273| dpm728@gwu.edu

Rachel Pollack - Adjunct Instructor of Writing
Ames 226 | (202) 242 5176 | rpollack@gwu.edu

Pam Presser - Teaching Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 225 | (202) 242-5169 | ppresser@gwu.edu
http://gwu.academia.edu/PamPresser

Rachel Riedner - Director of Writing in the Disciplines, Associate Professor of Writing and Women's Studies
Ames 214 | (202) 242-5156 | rach@gwu.edu

Matt Riley - Teaching Instructor of Writing
Ames 6684 | (202) 242-6684 | mriley1@gwu.edu

Phyllis Ryder - Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 230 | (202) 242-6667 | pryder@gwu.edu
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/pryder.htm
http://gwu.academia.edu/PhyllisRyder

Steve Salchak - Assistant Professor of Writing
MVC ACAD 206 | (202) 242-6724 | ssalchak@gwu.edu

Heather Schell - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 221 | (202) 242-5120 | schellhm@gwu.edu
http://gwu.academia.edu/HeatherSchell

Caroline Smith - Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 220 | (202) 242-6591 | cjsmith7@gwu.edu
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/csmith.htm

Michael Svoboda - Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 210 | (202) 242-6595 | msvoboda@gwu.edu

Niles Tomlinson - Adjunct Professor of Writing
Ames 217| (202) 242 5174| nilest@gwu.edu

Phillip Troutman - Assistant Professor of Writing -
Ames 237 | (202) 242-6794 | trout@gwu.edu
http://home.gwu.edu/~trout/

Abby Wilkerson -Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 203 | (202) 242-5282 | alw@gwu.edu
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/awilkerson.htm

Zachary Wolfe - Director First Year Writing | Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 218 | (202) 242-5130 | zwolfe@gwu.edu
http://home.gwu.edu/~zwolfe
http://www.gwu.edu/~uwp/fyw/faculty/zwolfe.html
http://gwu.facebook.com/profile/profile.php?id=558946015

Christy Zink - Director Writing Center, Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 233 | (202) 242-5279 | czink@gwu.edu

First-Year Writing Partner Reference Librarians

Debbie Bezanson- Distance Education Librarian
Gelman 104 |(202)994-1357 | bezanson@gwu.edu

Ann Brown - Reference/Instruction Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-1351 | agbrown@gwu.edu

John Danneker - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Eckles Library | (202) 242-6621 | jdanneke@gwu.edu

Cathy Eisenhower - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-9508 | cathye@gwu.edu

David Ettinger - Reference/Instruction Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-1355 | dettingr@gwu.edu

Deborah Gaspar - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-1333 | dgaspar@gwu.edu

Bill Gillis - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Eckles Library| (202) 242-8290 | gillis@gwu.edu

Grace Gu - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman 104| (202)994-2435 | gracegu@gwu.edu

Tolonda Henderson - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-4758 |tolonda@gwu.edu

Tina Plottel - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-2294 | plottel@gwu.edu

Dolsy Smith - Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman 104 | (202)994-2250 | dsmith@gwu.edu

Writing in the Disciplines Faculty

Karen Ahlquist | Music | ahlquist@gwu.edu
Maria Zulima Alvarez-Menendez | Romance Lang. and Lit. | zulimaa@gwu.edu
Elizabeth Anker | American Studies | anker@gwu.edu
John Artz | Info Systems & TM | jartz@gwu.edu
Steven Balla |Political Science| sballa@gwu.edu
Myron Belkind | Media and Public Affairs | mbelkind@gwu.edu
Robert Betz | Political Science | rbetz@robertbetz.com
Kamal Beyoghlow |International Affairs |beyokam@gwu.edu
Neal Bowes |Exercise Science |ngbowes@gwu.edu
Rebecca Boylan | Honors | rwboylan@gwu.edu
Jeffrey Brand-Ballard |Philosophy | jbb@gwu.edu
Jocelyne Brant | Romance Languages and Literature | brant@gwu.edu
Alison Brooks | Anthropology | abrooks@gwu.edu
Shelley Brundage | Speech & Hearing | brundage@gwu.edu
Geoffrey Carter | English | gcarter@gwu.edu
Catherine Chandler | Honors Program | cbrady@gwu.edu
Leah Chang | Romance Languages & Literature | lchang@gwu.edu
Edward Cherian | Info Systems and Tech Mgt | cherian@gwu.edu
Michele Clark | IAFF | maclark@gwu.edu
Jeffrey Cohen | English | jjcohen@gwu.edu
Robert Combs | English | bcombs@gwu.edu
Ingrid Creppell | Political Science | creppell@gwu.edu
Kavita Daiya | English | kdaiya@gwu.edu
Robert Dove | Political Science | bdove@gwu.edu
Michael Doyle | Media & Public Affairs | mcdoyle@gwu.edu
Joseph Dymond | Geography | jdymond@gwu.edu
Daina Eglitis | Sociology | dainas@gwu.edu
Nancy Evans | Interior Design | ntevans@gwu.edu
Elizabeth Fisher | Classics & Semitics | eaf@gwu.edu
Michael Freedman | Media & Public Affairs | mfr@gwu.edu
Molly Frost | Chinese | msf@gwu.edu
Roy Grinker | Anthropology | rgrink@gwu.edu
Lori Gronich | ESIA | gronich@gwu.edu
Thomas Guglielmo | American Studies | tgugliel@gwu.edu
Alexa Hampel | Communication | ahampel@gwu.edu
Adrienne Hancock | Speech & Hearing | hancock@gwu.edu
Mark Hannan | Business | mhannan@gwu.edu
Colin Helmer | IAFF | chelmer@gwu.edu
James Hershberg | History | jhershberg@gwu.edu
Joan Hilderbrandt | Chemistry | jhilderb@gwu.edu
Susan Johnston | Anthropology | sjohnsto@gwu.edu
Frederick Joutz | Economics | bmark@gwu.edu
Alvin Kaltman | Political Science | kaltman@gwu.edu
Steven Keller | School of Media & Public Affairs | skeller@gwu.edu
Steven Kelts | Political Science | kelts@gwu.edu
Charles Kiamie | IAFF | ckiamie@gwu.edu
Jisoo Kim | History | Jsk10@gwu.edu
Michael King | Chemistry | kingm@gwu.edu
Christopher Klemek | History | klemek@gwu.edu
Can Korman | ECE | korman@gwu.edu
Joshua Landon | Decision Science | jlandon@gwu.edu
Yajie Lei | Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering | yajielei@gwmail.gwu.edu
Yongsheng Leng | Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering | leng@gwu.edu
Tianshu Li | Civil and Environmental Engineering | tsli@gwu.edu
Laurence Lipman | School of Media & Public Affairs | lmlipman@gwu.edu
David McAleavey | English | dmca@gwu.edu
Melanie McAlister | Middle East Studies | mmc@gwu.edu
Michael McGough | School of Media & Public Affairs | mmcgough@gwu.edu
Thomas McNamara | ESIA | ambmcn@gmail.com
Henry Merchant | Biology | hmerchnt@gwu.edu
Suzanne Miller | History | Smmiller@gwu.edu
Eugene Montague | Music | Eugene_m@gwu.edu
Kim Moreland | English | moreland@gwu.edu
David Morris | Math | morrisd@gwu.edu
Michael Moses | Computer Science | moses@gwu.edu
Teresa Murphy | American Studies | tmurphy@gwu.edu
Catherine Osborne | Spanish | cosborne@gwu.edu
Gabriel Parmer | Computer Science | gparmer@gwu.edu
Elaine Pena | American Studies | eapena@gwu.edu
John Philbeck | Psychology | philbeck@gwu.edu
Marie Price | Geography | mprice@gwu.edu
Bernard Reich | Political Science | wreich@gwu.edu
Nelda Richards | Speech & Hearing Science | nsr@gwu.edu
Lilien Robinson | Art/Art History | lfr@gwu.edu
Marjorie Romines | English | annrom@gwu.edu
Roxanne Russell | Media & Public Affairs | rrussell@gwu.edu
Mitsuyo Sato | East Asian Lang & Lit | satom@gwu.edu
Dennis Schell | Psychology | dschell@gwu.edu
Evelyn Schreiber | English | eschreib@gwu.edu
Ormond Seavey | English | ocv@gwu.edu
Warren Sharp | Business | wsharp@gwu.edu
Rebecca Sher | School of Media & Public Affairs | bsher@gwu.edu
David Shinn |International Affairs | dhshinn@gwu.edu
Michael Sigrist | Philosophy | msigrist@gwu.edu
Margret Soltan | English | Msoltan@gwu.edu
Christopher Sten | English | csten@gwu.edu
Vincent Stine | Political Science | vstine@gwu.edu
Igor Strakovsky | Physics | igor@gwu.edu
Richard Thornton | History | rthornto@gwu.edu
David Throup | Political Science | dwthroup@gwu.edu
Robert Trost | Economics | trost@gwu.edu
Cheryl Vann | Honors | heloise@gwu.edu
Amanda Visek | Exercise Science | avisek@gwu.edu
Paul Wahlbeck | Political Science | wahlbeck@gwu.edu
Ronald Weitzer | Sociology | weitzer@gwu.edu
Sarah Wilensky | Health Policy | wilensky@gwu.edu
Nan Zhang | CSCI| nzhang10@gwu.edu
Michael Zuckerman | School of Media & Public Affairs | michaelz@gwu.edu
Past WID Faculty