Institute for International Economic Policy

Trade and Development Workshop Series

2008-2009 Events

Seminars are held at 2115 G St., NW in the Department of Economics John W. Kendrick Seminar Room (Monroe 321) from 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Thurs., 30 Apr 2009
Michael Ferrantino (U.S. International Trade Commission)
"Avoidance Behaviors of Exporters and Importers: Evidence from the U.S.-China Trade Data Discrepancy"P D F icon
Wed., 8 Apr 2009
Douglas Irwin (Darthmouth and NBER)
"Trade Restrictiveness and Deadweight Losses from U.S. Tariffs, 1859-1961"
Thurs., 2 Mar 2009
Vitor Trindade (Missouri)
"Openness and Productivity: Theory and some Evidence on International Competition and Firm-Owners' Effort"P D F icon
Thurs., 4 Dec 2008
Keith Head (British Columbia)
"Quality sorting and trade: Firm-level evidence for French wine" P D F icon with Matthieu Crozet and Thierry Mayer
Joint with the University Seminar on Regionalism and Global Economic Development
Thurs., 20 Nov 2008
Fahad Khalil (Washington)
"Bribery vs. extortion: Allowing the lesser of two evils"P D F icon
Thurs., 13 Nov 2008
Stephen Yeaple (PSU)
"Global Production and Trade in the Knowledge Economy" P D F icon
Joint with the University Seminar on Regionalism and Global Economic Development
Thurs., 6 Nov 2008
Shawn Cole (Harvard)
"Debt and Punishment," joint with Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo
Thurs., 30 Oct 2008
Jennifer Poole (UC-Santa Cruz)
"Multinational Spillovers through Worker Turnover" P D F icon
Thurs., 23 Oct 2008
Paul Carrillo and Shahe Emran (GWU)
"Public Information and Inflation Expectations in Developing Countries: Evidence from a Natural Experiment"
Thurs., 16 Oct 2008
Mine Senses (SAIS)
"International Trade and Labor Income Risk in the United States"
Thurs., 9 Oct 2008
Nora Lustig (GWU)
"Thought for Food: The Challenges of Coping with Soaring Food Prices"
Thurs., 25 Sept 2008
Mina Kim (BLS)
"Integration, Agglomeration, and Costly Adjustment of Labor" P D F icon

 

Upcoming Events

September 23 Tuesday
International Trade and Development Workshop
Chris Udry (Yale)
» 12:30 PM- 2:00 PM

October 7 Tuesday
International Trade and Development Workshop
David McKenzie (World Bank)
» 12:30 PM- 2:00 PM

October 14 Tuesday
International Trade and Development Workshop
Quamrul Ashraf (Williams)
» 12:30 PM- 2:00 PM

October 29 Tuesday
International Trade and Development Workshop
Monica Singhal (Harvard Kennedy School)
» 12:30 PM- 2:00 PM



Please contact iiep@gwu.edu for more information.