Institute for International Economic Policy

Trade and Development Workshop Series

2007-2008 Events

Seminars are held at 2115 G St., NW in the Department of Economics John W. Kendrick Seminar Room (Monroe 321) from 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Thurs., 11 Oct 2007
Chris Taber (Northwestern)
"Estimating the Cream Skimming Effect of Private School Vouchers on Public School Students"
Joint with Microeconomics Workshop
Tues., 16 Oct 2007 Nora Lustig, Shapiro Professor (GWU)
"Health and Economic Development: The Case of Mexico"
Tues., 23 Oct 2007 Maggie Chen (GWU) and Michael Moore (GWU)
"Firm Level Productivity: An Empirical Analysis of MNC Entry Decisions"
Tues., 30 Oct 2007 Hanan Jacoby (World Bank)
"On Measuring the Benefits of Lower Transport Costs"
Mon., 5 Nov 2007 Arvind Panagariya (Columbia)
"Preferential Trading: Theory and Policy"
Joint with University Seminar on Regionalism
Location: Lindner Commons, 6th floor, 1957 E St., NW
Thur., 15 Nov 2007 Tara Sinclair (GWU)
"Macroeconomic Fluctuations in Emerging Economies: An Unobserved Components Approach"; with Sinchan Mitra (Discover Financial Services)
Tues., 20 Nov 2007 John Giles (Michigan State and World Bank) with Alan de Brauw
"Migrant Labor Markets and the Welfare of Rural Households in the Developing World: Evidence from China"
Tues., 27 Nov 2007 Gary Fields, (Cornell University)
"Economic Mobility in Developing Countries"
Tues., 29 Jan 2008 Marc Busch (Georgetown) with Jennifer Tobin
"A BIT is Better Than a Lot: Bilateral Investment Treaties and Preferential Trade Agreements"
Joint with University Seminar on Regionalism
Tues., 5 Feb 2008 Santiago Levy (Chief Economist, Inter-American Development Bank)
"Good Intentions, Bad Outcomes; Social Policy, Informality and Economic Growth in Mexico"
Wed., 13 Feb 2008
Time: 1:30-3:00
Nuno Limao (Maryland)
"Policy Choice: Theory and Evidence from International Trade Agreements"
Joint with University Seminar on Regionalism
Location: Lindner Family Commons, Elliott School, 1957 E St., Suite 602
Tues., 19 Feb 2008 Jiandong Ju (Oklahoma and IMF)
" When is quality of financial system a source of comparative advantage?"
Tues., 11 March 2008 Kamal Saggi (SMU)
"Bilateralism, Pure Multilateralism, and the Quest for Global Free Trade"
Joint with University Seminar on Regionalism
Tues., 25 March 2008 Vijayendra Rao (World Bank)
"The Political Construction of Caste in South India" with Radu Ban (LSE)
Fri., 28 March 2008 Marc F. Bellemare (Duke)
"Testing between Competing Theories of Reverse Share Tenancy"
Please note different day
Tues., 1 April 2008 Scott Baier (Clemson)
"Estimating the Effects of Free Trade Agreements on Trade Flows using Matching Econometrics"
Joint with University Seminar on Regionalism
Fri., 11 April 2008 James Foster (Vanderbilt and Oxford) with Sabina Alkire (Oxford)
"Counting and Multidimensional Poverty Measurement" P D F icon
Please note different day
Tues., 15 April 2008 Maggie Chen and Sumit Joshi (George Washington University)
"Third-Country Effects in the Evolution of Free Trade Networks"
Tues.,22 April 2008 Xavi Gine (World Bank)
"Rational Expectations? Evidence from Planting Decisions in Semi-Arid India"
Thur., 24 April 2008
1-2:30 p.m.
Giovanni Maggi (Yale) with Bob Staiger
"An Incomplete-Contracting Theory of the WTO's Dispute Settlement Procedure"
Joint with University Seminar on Regionalism and Development
Please note the different day and time
Tues., 29 April 2008 Virginia Robano "Microfinance and fertility: an impact evaluation" and
Chris Blaha "Rules of Origin in Preferential Trading Arrangements: Tariff, Trade, and Investment Effects" (George Washington University)
PhD Dissertation Research Seminars

 

Upcoming Events

Please contact iiep@gwu.edu for more information.

PARTNERS