OCTOBER: GWB   |   DC/LC   |   LB   |   JK   |   JE   |   THK   |   EE   |   RN
The Travels of Teresa Heinz Kerry (Solo Appearances) -- October 2004
<< September
Miami, FL
Riviera Beach, FL
Greensburg, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
St. Louis, MO
Bellevue, WA
Seattle, WA
Eugene, OR
Tucson, AZ
...St. Louis debate
McAllen, TX
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Orlando, FL
...AZ debate
Reno, NV
Davenport, IA
Washington, DC
Durham, NH
Rye, NH
Yardley, PA
Washington, PA
Atlanta, GA
Miramar, FL
Homestead, FL
Tampa, FL
Lorain, OH
Cleveland, OH
Harrisburg, PA
Allentown, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
Brookhaven, PA
Philadelphia, PA
Taos, NM
Española, NM
Santa FE, NM
Ames, IA
November 1
Scranton, PA
Lancaster, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
Boston, MA
Note: This calender is based on campaign schedules and news accounts.  See Rationale, Methodology and Limitations.


Fri. October 1, 2004
THK stops at Saint John Bosco senior center in Miami (Little Havana), FL.
-THK holds a conversation with Haitian Americans at Jean Jacques Dessalines Community Center in Miami (Little Haiti), FL.
Flight to West Palm Beach.
THK meets with residents recovering from the hurricane in Riviera Beach, FL.

Sat. October 2, 2004

Sun. October 3, 2004
-THK keynotes the annual Westmoreland County Democratic Dinner at 4 Points Sheraton in Greensburg, PA.

Mon. October 4, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on Health Care at Teamsters Temple 249 Local Hall in Pittsburgh, PA.

Tues. October 5, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on health care at the North Central Community Health Center in St. Louis, MO.

Wed. October 6, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on health care at Eastgate Public Health Center in Bellevue, WA.
-THK attends attends a Women for Kerry rally at Seattle Central Community College in Seattle, WA.

Thurs. October 7, 2004
-THK holds a rally at McDonald Theater in Eugene, OR.
-THK rallies voters at Tucson Convention Center in Tucson, AZ.

Fri. October 8, 2004
[St. Louis debate]

Sat. October 9, 2004

Sun. October 10, 2004
-THK does a fundraiser at the home of developer Alonzo Cantu in McAllen, TX.  ($)
-THK rallies at McAllen Civic Center in McAllen, TX.

Mon. October 11, 2004
-THK delivers the keynote address at the National Congress of American Indians 61st Annual Convention at Fort Lauderdale/Broward County Convention Center, Grand Ballroom in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

Tues. October 12, 2004
-THK holds a town hall meeting with the Hispanic community at the Puerto Rican Association of Central Florida in Orlando, FL.

Wed. October 13, 2004
[Tempe debate]

Thurs. October 14, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on rising health care costs at Neil Road Recreation Center/City Family Services Center in Reno, NV.
(Rally w/ JK, JE and EE in Des Moines, IA).

Fri. October 15, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on domestic violence issues at Miriam House in Davenport, IA.
(Also today releases top two pages of 2003 1040 tax form).

Sat. October 16, 2004

Sun. October 17, 2004
-THK speaks to the Lion of Judah Conference at the Washington Hilton in Washington, DC.

Mon. October 18, 2004
THK meets with students in the MUB at the University of New Hampshire in Durham, NH.
-THK holds a conversation on the environment at Sea Coast Science Center in Rye, NH.

Tues. October 19, 2004
Appears on ABC's "The View."

Wed. October 20, 2004
(>Note: In an interview published in today's USA TodayMrs. Heinz Kerry stated of First Lady Laura Bush, "But I don't know that she's ever had a real job - I mean, since she's been grown up.  So her experience and her validation comes from important things, but different things."  She issued a statement apologizing for the remarks the same day).

Thurs. October 21, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on health care at Yardley Community Centre in Yardley (Bucks County), PA.

Fri. October 22, 2004
-THK speaks to the Pennsylvania State Conference of the NAACP at Holiday Inn Meadowlands in Washington, PA.
THK stops to thank volunteers at campaign headquarters in downtown and attends a fundraiser for the DNC at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta, GA.   (not public events)  ($)

Sat. October 23, 2004
-THK, Rep. Kendrick Meek and "Caribbean Americans for Kerry host a "Come Vote With Me" rally at Lakeshore Park in Miramar, FL.

Sun. October 24, 2004

Mon. October 25, 2004
-THK talks with the community about the importance of voting at Miami-Dade Community College in Homestead, FL.
-THK talks with women about the importance of voting at the Cuban Club of Tampa in Tampa (Ybor City), FL.

Tues. October 26, 2004
-THK holds a conversation on health care at St. Joseph's Community Center's Gould Auditorium in Lorain, OH.
-THK and Rep. Dennis Kucinich hold a recpetion with community leaders at Czech Karlin Hall in Cleveland, OH.

Wed. October 27, 2004
-THK holds a GOTV rally at AFSCME Council 13 in Harrisburg, PA.
-THK holds a GOTV rally at UAW Local 667 in Allentown, PA.

Thurs. October 28, 2004
-THK receives endorsements of local Republicans on behalf of her husband at campaign headquarters on Ross Street in Pittsburgh, PA.
-THK receives endorsements of local Republicans on behalf of her husband at Brookhaven Community Center in Brookhaven, PA.
-THK visits with African American ward leaders at Zanzibar Blue in Philadelphia, PA.

Fri. October 29, 2004
(THK attends memorial service for Christopher Reeve at Julliard School in New York, NY).

Sat. October 30, 2004
-THK (and Gov. Richardson, actor Martin Sheen) rallies at Kachina Lodge in Taos, NM.
-THK (and Gov. Richardson, actor Martin Sheen) rallies at San Juan Pueblo Dome in Española, NM.
-THK and Bill Clinton (and Gov. Richardson, actor Martin Sheen) rally at Santa Fe Plaza in Santa Fe, NM.

Sun. October 31, 2004
-THK rallies volunteers in the Ames campaign office at 319 Clark St. in Ames, IA.

Mon. November 1, 2004
-THK holds Get Out the Vote rally at Scranton High School auditorium in Scranton, PA.
-THK holds Get Out the Vote rally at Teamsters Local Union #771 in Lancaster, PA.

Tues. November 2, 2004
-THK and Chris and Andre Heinz vote at Fox Chapel Presbyterian Church in Pittsburgh, PA.
To Boston, MA.

Copyright © 2004, 2005  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action